Special Needs Link Love

I’m always looking for new links for special needs.  So in order to keep y’all informed, I thought I’d do a Special Need Links Roundup with a little description of the links I’ve found.  Some of these are old news, but I thought since some might not know about them, I’d better start from the beginning.

To The Max!  This was the first CP blog I stumbled upon.  I don’t remember how I got there, but I’m glad I did.  Max is such a lovable boy and his mama, Ellen, is an amazing woman/writer.  She talks about many subjects including equipment, confessions of a special needs mom, and some subjects that may be a bit controversial (like use of the R word).

Bird On The Street Katy is a former special ed teacher with an adorable son, Charlie.  She has some great units on teaching your child and activities to reinforce the lesson!  Charlie is about LJ’s age, also with Cerebral Palsy.  I discovered her blog through Love That Max!

Elijahland! is another one of my favorites!  Elijah is also about LJ’s age with Cerebral Palsy.  Another adorable boy with some great parents, Lisa and Andy.  Andy also has a blog about CP treatments.  Elijah’s CP is similar to LJ’s, a result of oxygen deprivation.  I love watching videos that Lisa post about Elijah and celebrating his accomplishments! 

Special Child Exchange is probably one of my least favorite names for a group because, well, it sounds like your exchanging your child!  But really, this is a wonderful Yahoo! Group.  It’s actually two groups, but this site will lead you to both.  The board is just for parents to ask for advice, exchange information, and provide support.  You will find a great group of moms here and sometimes even find someone in your area.  The Equipment exchange board is for parents to post equipment.  You can find a lot of good pieces for reduced prices, many items used.  Some parents even post discounted clothes and toys that they find that really helps other parents out, especially during the holidays.

Danielle’s Foundation This is a wonderful resource for parents of children with Cerebral Palsy and/or Brain Injuries.  After submitting my information, they called me very quickly to talk about LJ.  The same day, I was sent an email of a list of local resources.  They also sent me a book on therapies, which I’ve only had a chance to glance through, but it looks like an amazing resource.  They provide links and guides to fundraising and the volunteers there are so helpful.  They also just started a grant program where you can apply for things that insurance won’t cover!  Or even just those “convenience” items like, oh, I don’t know, a high chair.

If you have any links you’d like me to check out, please email me at OurYellowBrickRd@gmail.com 

4 Responses

  1. Those first 3 bloggers are savvy and good mommy bloggers! While DFound appears to give much it is because they list EVERYTHING with little discrimination for whether the treatment is effective. I am always telling parents, be careful who you trust. What are your ‘red flags’ for questioning a source of information? Thanks for including my blog on your SN Blogroll – I work real hard to give accurate and useful information even if I am not very amusing.

    • Barbara, true! It’s important for parents to do their own research and ask lots of questions. I think their volunteers are very helpful though, and I’m always glad to recieve a free book on therapy or special needs!

  2. Thanks so much Christy! I’ve been meaning to comment on this (for the past four days!), but we’ve had a crazy life lately. Anyway, I just wanted to say that you’re one of MY fav blogs and thanks so much for the shout-out! You totally made my day. 🙂 Thanks.

Leave a Reply

