First week of ECSE Preschool

Alternate title post, “The Battle Begins.”

Well, he survived.  Actually, he did pretty well.  It was me that survived.

His first day was only for an hour and the parents attended as well.  We sat through a presentation about the curriculum and drop off policies, where I realized this was only the beginning of battles of things like who can drop off what kid where and when and perhaps more important things like getting the equipment my son needs.

Wait, that realization occurred on his second day.

Let me backtrack a bit.  First, the bus company never called us to tell us important factors like when they’d be here to pick up LJ and where.  Also, I wanted to make sure the bus had AC, after some of the horror stories I heard.  Luckily, LJ’s teacher knew the morning bus driver and was able to call her directly. 

Despite having notice of the bus’ arrival time, I scrambled to get LJ ready.  When the bus arrived, I remembered the teacher telling me it wasn’t a wheelchair bus (they had car seats), but there weren’t going to be many students so it could probably fit.  I told LJ’s bus aide that I would probably have to show her how to break down and assemble the chair but she never got off the bus. 

Louie went up to the school to watch the nurse prep LJ’s feeding (he has a g-tube).  This is something that makes me wonder about how other children’s feedings are handled at school.  On Monday, they proposed to have a staff member take his feeding bag to the nurse’s office for her to prep, then bring LJ to the nurse so she can set it up and then take LJ back to work on oral feeding or whatever.  Then take him back to finish up.  This seems to me like a huge waste of time.  And almost like it’s singling him out.  I’ve seen a DVD on the Mickey button (which is the type of feeding tube he has) and they all rave about how easy AND inconspicuous it is.  Not that that’s the reason I got it for him.  I just don’t understand why they preschool staff can’t do it, in the classroom.

Honestly, I know I’m just preparing myself for battle based on experience.  No, LJ has never been to school before.  But since he was a baby, I learned quickly that nothing gets done unless I bitch or do something about it.  Maybe they haven’t ordered equipment yet because they want to see if they have anything that works for him.  Maybe they want to figure out what would work best (even though I’ve told them what we have).  Maybe they needed to get through the first “week” of craziness that is the beginning of school.

I know school will be really good for him, though.  He has an amazing teacher and I know the other staff are quickly falling for him (it’s too easy).  On Friday, he came home with a huge smile on his face.  Then he passed out for 4 hours.  Hopefully, he just needs to get use to it.

Also?  I love this little boy.  He came right up to LJ’s wheelchair during recess and starting talking to him.  I already thought he was adorable and now he made my heart melt by treating LJ like any other kid.

3 Responses

  1. I’m wow-ed by your post ending – the sweet boy, school staff falling for LJ, his smile and amazing teacher. Hold-onto to all that for encouraging yourself through the rest of it. All the time parents and pros talk about ‘transition’ for children. I think you got it right when you said you survived. Entry into school is so hard for lots of people. Too bad because the system is meant to do good but it runs like a clunker.

  2. That’s so great to hear that he came home with a smile on his face! I’m still trying to understand everything you are describing, but since I have not seen LJ in years (or you for that matter, missy 😉 ), I’m not quite sure I know what everything is all about. But I’m glad I can read about how things are going when we do not have the time to catch up. 🙂

  3. I think it is going to be some bring old article, but it really compensated for my time. I will postedthe trackback to the article on my blog. I am sure ours visitors will thought this very useful

Leave a Reply

