Miracle Veterans

Candace is having a contest for those of you have experienced or witnessed miracles out there. Thus her coined term, Miracle Veterans.

 Lord knows we’ve had many miracles in our family. LJ has had countless. Sometimes I don’t even realize the miracle that has happened until much time has passed. An ER episode reminded me of an experience LJ had.

When LJ was born, he had to be intubated and hospitalized. A few days after being hospitalized, they had to extubate him. I’ll never forget the doctors words, forced through his thick accent.
We will see how he does and go from there.
 
I never realized he wasn’t expecting LJ to breathe on his own. But he did. Days later, another miracle happened the doctors didn’t expect. He took a bottle. The very next day he was breastfeeding.

 My heart still aches, thinking about those long, blurry days. The following pictures may not seem like the happiest, but we were so proud of our little boy. He’s a fighter. I like to keep these around to remind me to of the struggles we’ve gone through together and to be thankful for every day of them.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Miss Burb! SOOO nice to meet you and thrilled to have you! I was touched by your experiences with your little angel. My daughter Faith had experiences very similar. We have been battle scarred but have witnessed great things! I am preparing for my daughter's surgery on tues. and having these stories gives me a great boost. So great!

  2. Hi Miss B, your pictures are heartbreaking and breathtakingly beautiful at the same time. We have similar photos (for a long time it was hard for me to look at them, but like you, I'm thankful for the reminders of what we've been through). I'm well aquainted with the miracles of breathing and of breastfeeding. You have every right to be proud, LilB is a fighter (and so are you guys!)

Leave a Reply

