Goodbye Old Friend

“Yes, there are two paths you can go by, but in the long run, there’s still time to change the road you’re on.” -Stairway To Heaven

I never thought I would be writing this post.

Matt, 23 years old, got married in June 2005 and got his degree with honors in aircraft mechanics January 2008. His daughter was born in March 2008 and they had relocated (for his new career) in May 2008.

August 31, 2008, Matt was shot in front of his home. He was the youngest of 3 kids.

Matt was the kind of guy who you always wanted around. He was the first guy I partied with, the one who introduced me to great bands like Nirvana, Led Zepplin, and other great musicians. He always made sure I was alright. He had a passion for life that couldn’t compare. He was romantic, funny, and an all around good guy. He had a way with people and always had time for them, never making anyone feel left out. He was the kind of guy no one could forget.

He had just gotten his life on tract for it to be taken away by someone who probably didn’t have a light like him in their life.

He lived his life to the fullest, perhaps knowing his time with us would be short.

I’ll always remember how he was there for me when I had relationship troubles, whether with boys, family, or friends. He always had a way of making (in his words) “It’s all good.”

And though I hadn’t seen him in years, I’ll always remember his infectious smile.

But most of all, I’ll always remember the pain in his father’s cry as they bid their final goodbye.
I love you and I miss you Matt. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to see you. But I look forward to the days that we can chill again.

Leave a Reply

