LJ’s Birth Story: Part 5

Catch up here.

It was maybe 11 a.m., the day he was born when they transferred LJ to The Children’s Hospital. I made some phone calls to the hospital and told them to call me when they knew anything. There was nothing left to do, but rest. I opted to sleeping in Louie‘s arms on the pull-out couch bed, instead of alone in my hospital bed.

Not but a couple hours later, a nurse barged in. She said they had to move us into another room and brought us a cart to pack our stuff. I was irritated. Technically, I should have had that room for another day, and since I was trying to leave early, I was actually trying to rest instead of being hustled around, again and again.

She ushered us into a room down the hall, and when we walked in, I was peeved. It was a small, plain, white room, with a small bed, and no couch for Louie to rest on. The bathroom didn’t even have a stool in it, let alone a tub, with a toilet seat that was so high, I made a mess almost every time I used it.

We watched t.v. for a while, making calls to The Children’s Hospital every now and then. There were small reports about him being stable, but nothing further then that. It was maddening.

We ordered dinner, and I ordered more pain meds to help me sleep. We cuddled up next to each other, and slept.

We were rudely awakened (again) early the next morning by a discharge nurse. She went over paperwork and then she asked me where the baby was. I just stared at her, while Louie replied. She left and I cried myself back to sleep in his arms.

My doctor came in a couple hours later. He gave some comforting words and told us that the discharge nurse would be back down to have me sign paperwork, and then I was free to go. He tried to reassure both of us and told us to call him if we had questions.

We ordered breakfast while we waited for the nurse to come back. When she left, we gathered our things and left the maternity ward. I went to the pharmacy and put my prescription in. While I was waiting, a pharmacist asked me when I was due. I told her I wasn’t.

We went straight to The Children’s Hospital.

Leave a Reply

