Way To Kick Off The Party…

Friday afternoon phone call:

Lady: Is this LJ’s mom?
Me: It is.
Lady: Hello, this is Sara from ____ Pediatrics. We receieved the results from LJ’s CT scan. Is he scheduled for neurology yet?
Me (thinking): Are you fucking kidding me? (saying) Actually, his nurse said that neurology wanted him to see NICU Specialty first…
Lady: Oh, good. The results were abnormal.
Me: Uhh, what does that mean… (choking back tears here)
Lady: Well, the results should have been forawarded to NICU so you can discuss the results with them during your appointment.
Me: I’m not going to wait a month… (holding back curses)
Lady: Well, you could call them and talk to someone about the results.

__________________________________________________________________

I never got a call back from anyone at NICU so I called this morning and got the run around. Finally, I just called my pediatrician’s office and demanded my doctor call me back. He did (within 30 minutes!) and talked to me about the results. (Did I mention I ❤ him?)

LJ has atrophy of the brain. Meaning, his brain is not growing the way it should. This is probably due to what happened at birth or even in the utero (insert heart wrenching guilt here)

It could be worse. He could have had pre mature closing of the sutures, which would pretty much mean his skull would have to be cracked back open (*shudders*).

It could be better. His old pediatrician could have ordered this CT MONTHS ago and we could already be in with a neurologist.

While I’m devastated that my son’s birth is still affecting him and his growth, I’m relieved that his condition isn’t worse.

My poor baby. I feel so helpless.

(Birthday post to come shortly)

Leave a Reply

