LJ’s Birth Story: Part 2

When I woke up, it was dark. The t.v. was on and a nurse had snuck in, careful not to wake up Louie. I had woken up from a strong contraction, so I knew the epidural was wearing off. I hit the button a couple of times while she check on my progress.

It won’t be long now! she whispered.

I requested another load dose of the epidural because the contractions were starting to feel strong again. They said it would be a little while.

I lied there, watching Louie curled up on the couch. I smiled to myself, happy that we had made it this far, and despite so many hurdles we’d gone through, it seemed it had only made us stronger. I thought about how lucky I was to have him, supporting me.

The drug man (my pet name for him) came and gave me the load dose. I started to feel sleepy almost immediately and just as I was drifting off, a nurse walked in with a tray. She was setting up for the birth. She shuffled around for a minute before another nurse came in and flicked on the lights, completely throwing me off my chi, which I wasn’t even aware of until then. Louie stirred a little, lifted his head in confusion, his eyes trying to blink away the sleep. He looked exhausted.

Louie grabbed the video camera and stretched, while the nurses continued to set everything up. One of the nurses started positioning my bed, dropping the bottom part and lifting up the top, so I was in a more reclined positions. She reached between my pretty much dead legs, pushed on a spot and told me that was where I would push. Good to know, I thought.

We did some “practice” pushes, to help me get the feel for it and to help the baby down more. My doctor came in and I grumbled about my exhaustion, though I was thrilled to see that he was actually delivering. I kept remembering all the birth stories I had read about other mamas giving up in the middle of pushing, only to be set back. I was determined not to let my exhaustion get the best of me.

Louie got on one side of me and a nurse on the other. They helped me push my legs back, as I grabbed them for support. When a contraction came, any tension or discomfort was replaced by the feeling of relief as I pushed with my body.

When the monitors started going off, I tried not to panic. I recalled reading about monitors losing their signal sometimes, and that had happened a few times earlier that day. Still, they put an oxygen mask on me and let me rest for a minute until the monitors were stable again.

But when more nurses started to pile into the room, I knew they weren’t telling me something.

One Response

  1. […] LJ’s Birth Story: Part 3 July 15, 2008 by ouryellowbrickroad Catch up on Part 1 and Part 2 […]

Leave a Reply

