LJ’s Birth Story: Part 1

I had trouble sleeping that night. Now it was 5 a.m. and I was up before the sun. Not being a morning person, I tried to shake off the sleepiness that still lingered.

Louie and I had stayed up talking about this day. We knew we should have gone to bed early, but the excitement between us created an energy that would not be ignored. We were going to have a baby. We were going to have our first baby.

We had our bags stuffed with clothes, cameras, and paperwork along with other non-essential items. I had obsessively repacked everything to make sure it would all fit. Before I went to sleep the night before, I made several prayers asking to go into labor naturally so I wouldn’t have to be induced. And that either way, we had a safe and healthy baby.

When we got to the hospital it was about 6 a.m., the time they told us to arrive. They showed us to our room and informed us that a new shift was starting so it would be a little bit before a nurse would come in. It wasn’t until an hour later that someone came in. I was thrilled that I had woken up so early just to wait on someone else.

The nurse came in and hooked me up to an I.V. then a doctor came to check on me. She ordered the Pitocin and started me on the lowest dose. The nurse stayed behind while I asked her questions about moving around. She told me to just ring for one of the nurses and they’d help me with my I.V. I had thought about doing natural birth but really doubted I could since I was being induced and wouldn’t be able to move as freely as I liked.

Louie and I decided to watch some movies we brought. A nurse would pop in every now and then to check on my progress and when my body wasn’t moving along fast enough to their liking, they raised the dose of Pitocin.

Around lunchtime, the same doctor came in and broke my water. She reported that the it was clear, meaning there was no merconium.

Before long, I was getting contractions. I couldn’t believe how strong they felt and yet I knew from all the warnings from out birthing class, this was only the beginning. We tried moving me to the exercise ball I brought and Louie tried to rub my back. Every time a contraction came, I had the strong urge to beat down any nurse that came in. Please note that no nurses were harmed during this time.

I was so exhausted. I cursed myself for staying up so late. As I would start to drift off, another contraction would kick in and I would almost cry through it. I just wanted to rest before I had to actually work to get this baby out of me. Louie hated seeing me in pain.

Sometime around the afternoon, I talked to the nurses about drugs. I wish I had stuck with my instinct but I let them convince me to add a little something to my I.V. and it would help “take the edge off”. Plus, they’d cut the dose in half and give me more if I wanted it.

It didn’t take long for the Stadol to kick in. I felt loopy and not in control. I hated it and instantly started telling Louie how I felt about it. I was pissed when another contraction came and it felt just as strong, if not stronger then all the others. I tried not to think about what effects it would have on the baby. It was already too late.

When I sobered up, which didn’t take too long, I demanded an epidural. When the anesthesia guy came, he had someone with him. It seemed that he had enough confidence to let the younger lady with him do it. Louie stood in front of me while I was perched on the bed and I leaned into him. She hit a nerve and made me jump then had the gall to tell me I couldn’t do that. I snapped back…

Well, if you don’t hit a nerve, I won’t jerk like that. I hissed. I quietly reprimended myself… Don’t piss off the person giving you drugs in your spine.

Louie had to move at that point because needles make him queasy and when he saw me jump he thought it had hurt me. It hadn’t, but he had to lay down on the floor anyway. One of the nurses took his place while the others checked and made sure he was okay.

The second try it went in fine. The homicidal feelings began to subside and within the hour I was sleeping like a baby without feeling drugged.

After being woken up a few times by the nurse to check on my progress, and getting a load dose of the epidural, Louie decided to rest on the couch. I watched him for a while, happy that he was here supporting me through this.

My dad came by during his lunch hour and on his way home. I talked to my mom and a few of my friends for a little while, but it was clear to them that I wasn’t in the mood for chit chat.

Finally, the nurses left me alone for a little while. I was able to rest my body and prepare for the arrival of our son.

One Response

  1. […] Birth Story: Part 3 July 15, 2008 by ouryellowbrickroad Catch up on Part 1 and Part […]

Leave a Reply

