All Better with Pasta

LJ’s highchair is an old hand-me-down from grandma when she was doing childcare from her home. It’s got those not so handy-dandy straps to hold the boogers still and keep them from flailing around in the gigantic chair. The back of the chair reclines, but, as so many people have told me, I’m not to use this as we want the baby to realize that you sit up straight to eat and at a table-like setting. And while reclining the chair may make placing squirmy baby by oneself simpler, I am too lazy to do this.
The other day I ask Louie to put LJ in his chair. We have one of his old sleep positioners behind him so he can sit right up to the tray and play with his toys. It’s also the reason we don’t use the straps, as it makes it almost impossible to use. We also have these foam pieces that we squeeze in between him and the chair, to keep him propped up. Well, Louie assumed that the sleep positioner was sufficient enough.
It is not.
I look over from the kitchen, to see him sliding to his right, and before I could dash over there and catch him, he flails around and BAM. His face slammed into the tray. My first instinct was to yell at Louie and really, I almost did. However, I was able to take a deep breath, comfort LJ and tell myself that Louie didn’t know and he’d probably feel worse if I yelled at him.
Alright!! I do have a little self control…
Moving on… there weren’t any bruises or anything but I definitely felt that that was my first “Bad Mommy” moment.
Funny enough, the second “Bad Mommy” moment came that night when Louie found LJ’s first owie. I know, I’m not 6 and neither are you, but I felt so bad for him. It’s toward the back of his leg so I really have no idea how he got it. Louie thought it might be Bogey but the only way he could have done it was while LJ was on his tummy and he’s never left by himself during tummy time (because he hates it).
So I had to let the kid have an awesome night of fun. I boiled some pasta and let him at it…
Hmm…what’s mommy giving me this time?
This is neat! I can feel it between my fingers!!
I am making a complete mess and mommy doesn’t care!!
She also doesn’t seem to care that I’m feeding the dog…
 
 
So he loved it. He played with it for over 30 minutes and never got bored. It was near his bedtime or I wouldn’t have stopped him.
Leave a Reply

