Funeral Part II

After the funeral service, we went to my Aunt’s house to eat and talk. Not everyone went, thank goodness. We discovered the LJ loves to listen to the piano. We chatted and caught up on a few things with some family members while LJ rolled around on the floor. We crashed early.

The next morning we got up since they were going to have a memorial mass at church. It was lovely except that priest, or whatever it is that Catholics have, kept saying what a great Catholic my grandfather was. Don’t get me wrong, he was a huge part of my grandma’s life but it was how he presented it. My grandmother was technically Catholic but she didn’t go to church much, especially as she got older. He was almost comparing them.

LJ got fussy since his schedule was thrown off, so I left the pews and went to an area I could still hear but not have him bother everyone (not that they cared). It was sooo funny because everytime I would walk back to the pews, LJ would start bawling. I was able to get back for the part where family and friends shared words with everyone. Very tearful moments…

We went back to my Aunt’s for a celebration (my grandmother wanted us to celebrate her life, not her death) and even though we all took like an hour nap, LJ was not going to have millions of people kissing him. So we stayed upstairs and watched home shows, having family members pop in every once in a while when they wanted some quiet time. It was actually nice to have some one-on-one with other family members. I didn’t get as much time as I would have liked with my Aunt. I’ve spent a good deal of time with her.

Anyway, the flight home was a lot less of a hassel. And they didn’t make me take off my Snugli or anything. Plus, they were a lot nicer. Funny, because I didn’t expect as much in Memphis. Ah, well.

Grandma, I love you and I’m glad you’re at peace. There’s so many things I’ll always remember; our pillow talks, your cooking, playing nintendo with you, shopping. You were the greatest and I hope I can become half the woman you are.

Leave a Reply

