No Words

Ring, ring

Just answer it.

Ring, ring

You better get it, Christy…

Ring, ring

Answer the d*mn phone!

I finally got up and answered the phone. It was my Aunt, as I knew it would be. Which is why I had been telling myself to answer the phone. I knew she was with my grandma…

My Aunt told me that she had been in and out of her coma state for a while, and that she could call me during one of her “in” moments, if I wanted. The last time I saw my grandma was last April, after my grandfather died, where I drove the 10 hour drive, 7 months pregnant just to be with her. When I left, I thought that it might be the last time I saw her, even after promises to come visit me and the baby.

Her words were slurred. I heard her struggle to say my name and then the words I love you formed so clearly… I told her I loved her over and over. I didn’t know what else to say.

My aunt asked me if I wanted her to call me when it was closer. I told her yes, but really, I don’t know what else to say.

Leave a Reply

