Swimming in a See of Problems

Our ophthalmologist concluded that LJ will need surgery in both eyes in March. This reminds me of when I was little and wearing a patch over my eye, pretending to be a pirate. If I had gotten my second surgery, my eyes probably wouldn’t wander from time to time. It seems technology has improved, but the success rate is the same. Still, 85% is pretty good.

Not that I’m at all thrilled that my son will have to go through this. I know he won’t remember any of it, because I certainly don’t. I am just worried. Our doctor isn’t the most people-person, though she comes highly recommended… I just want her to take more time with us. My son’s eye problems are a result of neurological issues. At least, that’s what I thought.

I wasn’t able to go to the appointment but Louie did call me to tell me our insurance was terminated. I would have thought they were suppose to give you notice and extend a COBRA offering or something. I made him go to the appointment anyway, because I had noticed LJ’s eyes were getting worse.

I want my son to be okay. I need all these doctors and therapist to communicate with each other nothing is overlooked. I need these people to be aware what everyone else is doing with him.

I don’t have the option to feel like I can’t do it anymore. I have to. I have to be strong for my son. I can’t give in…and I won’t be walked over.

Leave a Reply

