Hardly therapeutic

LJ’s therapist came over today for his first session since the holidays. Overall, he did well. He’s starting to sit up and trying to crawl. She did note there were toning issues in his left arm, after Louie made a comment about how he only uses his right to grab things. Plus, she mentioned the neurologist again because he still has an almost involuntary way of dropping his head every now and then.

I think I get frustrated, because I want him to be doing nothing but good. He is making great progress but once she mentions neurologist, I freak out. I think it has to do with how we were treated both at the hospital he was born at and The Children’s Hospital. I often have to remind myself that he’s young, resilient and proved all the doctors wrong and he has time to grow.

Of course, now we’ll be seeing Debbie (therapist) every week now. She’s coming back tomorrow when the vision therapist, Kim comes so they can correlate goals and what not. I’m sure Kim will want to see us every week as well.

We can’t get an appointment with the neurologist at The Children’s Hosp unless we have a letter from a doctor. Supposedly when LJ was discharged, they had set up an appointment for January to see a developmental pediatrician. I have called everyone about this appointment (it was made over 6 months ago!) but the appointment has disappeared. After the therapist session today, I called The Children’s Hospital to obtain all medical records. I’m done being in the dark. I also called our pediatrician but they were at lunch.

I often remind myself how fortunate we are, even through our struggles. There are a lot of kids out there that are a lot worse off but don’t give in. I have a new admiration for children and their perseverance. Not to mention their parent’s strength. I know LJ has given me strength I never knew I had.

Leave a Reply

