Field trip to a pumpkin patch

We had lots of Halloween events, not just for the boys, but for us too!  Lots of recaps this week because I just didn’t have time to blog these past couple of weeks.

LJ went on his first field trip two weeks ago and I had to go with!  I loved it when mom came on my field trips.  We went to a Pumpkin Patch, which was actually kind of exciting for me since I’ve never been to one.

I was nervous for two reasons.  First, I wasn’t sure how LJ’s wheelchair would handle the terrain.  His chair is ok.  It does its job and positions him well… but it doesn’t have any shocks and it’s durability is terrible.  I was worried he’d be jostled everywhere they went and wouldn’t have enough head control to keep his head up and look around.

The second reason for my nerves was me.  Let me just say that I’ve always had a bit of a social anxiety.  I was worried that other parents wouldn’t talk to me.  I know it’s silly but sometimes being a young mom makes me feel out-of-place. 

Luckily, I hit it off with quite a few moms.

First, the kids went into a corn silo (a silo filled with, you guessed it, corn!)  I eyed it a bit timidly till one mom said, You want me to get in there with him?!  So I climbed in there and she passed him to me.  I think I’m still shaking out corn from my pants, weeks later.

Then we went on a hay ride!  This was awkward only because I can’t hold LJ and lift a wheelchair up onto the back of the bed.  A dad (or possibly a granddad, I couldn’t figure it out) was a huge help.  We stopped by to pick a pumpkin and then went to the corn maze.  I made it about a quarter way through in LJ’s chair when I turned back around.  By that time the kids had made it around the maze twice. 

We stopped by and checked out a few animals and then headed to a big hay stack.  I think the kids enjoyed this the most.  I laid LJ in the hay and climbed up there with him.  Some of the kids buried his legs in the hay.  It was adorable.

I’m so glad I went.  Sometimes I have such a hard time seeing LJ in a classroom setting that I just assumed these feelings would carry over to our field trip.  They didn’t.  In fact, I think I cried with joy afterwards.  The kids are so sweet to LJ.  And there are these two girls in his class that adore him.  At the end, we took pictures of all the kids together on the hay stack.  The teacher positioned LJ in between these two girls and instructed them to hold them up.  This made me nervous so I climbed up there and hid behind them but they were so good with him.  I guess I never really thought about how being a peer model could be beneficial for them too.

I cant’ wait for our next field trip!

2 Responses

  1. Awesome pictures. I’m so glad you had a good time. :)

  2. Looks like a great learning adventure! Love that picture of the two of you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

